The Poetic Gospel

I recently posted my first poem a few days ago and since I have been wanting to write another poem. Except this time on my favorite topic, the gospel. So over the past few days I have been writing and while I’m not 100% sure that I’m finished with this one I still wanted to share it.

 There is a truth that includes all
that continues today from the fall
for all men hate the One who is good
because in their depravity have not understood.
That the Lord made the heavens and all it contains
the fields and oceans, for the Lord makes it rain.
Yet men in their wickedness turn from the One
who is true and great, because of what He has done.

The wrath of God is men’s only escape
for the deeds of men will always rape
the glory of God and all His worth
still sin and corruption fill the earth.
With lies and deception do we spread
the wickedness of men is what all dread;
with no hope of change in our depravity
we cannot run, for it is like gravity.

Before His throne no one will stand
fury and fire is what the Lord commands.
But God in all mercy and grace
turned to His Son to restore our race.
Death and destruction will abound
all men will be silent when judgement sounds.
Unless One should take our place
but who would die for this wicked race.

God’s only Son could take on sin
and make us clean from within.
Changing our hearts to rely
on the death of Christ; in Him supplied
power and love to push us to
perfection and purity for we are new.
Christ’s blood has redeemed us to tell the story
the riches of God for His fame and glory.

Writing poetry has been a great joy as of late. It definitely frees my heart and challenges my mind to think of words that flow with meaning and truth. I hope to branch out and try different types of poetry, but for now I will stick with this one.

Leave a Reply

